Baobab Banana Breakfast Bowl

Hey Raw Fooder’s,

It has been a while since I last wrote, and there have been many goings on in my raw food life, not least continuing with the journey back into a committed healthy lifestyle.

I have been playing around with my tastes for breakfast. It all started several years ago with introducing green smoothies into my diet, especially for breakfast. I have since tried many leafy vegetable and fruit combinations, which I adore, but during the past year, I’ve been creating lovely porridge-like breakfast bowels. I thought I would share one of my favourites with you, as I can’t seem to get enough of this one at the moment.

©Sistahintheraw's Baobab Banana  Breakfast Bowl

©Sistahintheraw’s Baobab Banana Breakfast Bowl

This is such a yummy, simple recipe and just as with smoothies, you can play around with different ingredients to create a series of variations based on your own tastes. You can also add more of the chia and oats to make a thicker, heavier and more filling porridge, if you like too. The thing is that I love adding super-foods to raw food creations. Baobab is no exception, and as you know (I’ve written about it before), it is one of my favourites. Along with all the numerous nutritional benefits of the chia and coconut, these help to reassure me that along with consuming a varied plant-based diet, I’m touching all bases where my nutritional needs are concerned. So, try this one out and see how you get on.

Baobab Banana Breakfast Bowl

1 ripe banana
1 cup coconut milk or coconut water
1 tbsp baobab fruit powder
1 tbsp chia seed
1 tbsp gluten free oats
1/4 tsp cinnamon powder
Organic strawberries, sliced (or other fruit that you like)

So what I did was to blend the banana, baobab fruit powder, cinnamon and milk together, creating a slightly thickish consistency. Decant to a bowl and stir chia seeds and oats into the mixture.

Place in the fridge over night. In the morning the chia seeds will have expanded and the oats thickened add your favourite fresh organic fruit and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Baobab Banana Breakfast Bowl

Leave a Reply

